Diamond Kahn & Woods Literary Agency

On Wilder Seas

THE WOMAN ON THE GOLDEN HIND Enslaved in the Spanish New World, Maria is no stranger to sacrifice. When a chance meeting offers escape, Maria seizes it. But she has unwittingly put herself at the mercy of the notorious Francis Drake, mid-circumnavigation, and he’s about to attempt the riskiest leg yet: a secret detour to find the fabled Anian Straits above America. Sailing into the far north on the Golden Hind, Maria… (read more)


Scenes of a Graphic Nature

A darkly comic novel about a young woman going back to her Irish roots and digging up secrets, from the critically acclaimed author of Promising Young Women. Charlie Regan is going back to her roots. Her career as a filmmaker is on standby, she hasn’t had a girlfriend in forever, her best friend is sickeningly successful (and being awkward since that night) and her dad is dying of cancer. So the… (read more)


Augury

The people of an ancient city awaken one night to find the earth beneath them trembling. But only the Augur, a fearless prophetess who was once the power behind the throne, sees the fate that awaits them. As the skies darken and portents threaten, a handful of people are drawn to do the Augur’s bidding. Fierce Saba and pale-haired Aemilia, her young acolytes, stolen from their homes long ago. Myloxenes, gentle son… (read more)


Our Stop

What if you almost missed the love of your life? Nadia gets the 7.30 train every morning without fail. Well, except if she oversleeps or wakes up at her friend Emma’s after too much wine. Daniel really does get the 7.30 train every morning, which is easy because he hasn’t been able to sleep properly since his Dad died. One morning, Nadia’s eye catches sight of a post in the daily paper: To the… (read more)


When You Read This

Iris Massey is gone. But she’s left something behind. For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness at only thirty-three. Adrift without his friend and colleague, Smith is surprised to discover that in her last six months, Iris created a blog filled with sharp and often funny musings on the… (read more)


Pieces of Me

Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2018 Emma did not go to war looking for love, but Adam is unlike any other. Under the secret shadow of trauma, Emma decides to leave Iraq and joins Adam to settle in Colorado. But isolation and fear find her, once again, when Adam is re-deployed. Torn between a deep fear for Adam’s safety and a desire to be back there herself, Emma copes by… (read more)


Deep Blue

Date: 27th September 2188. Vessel: The Alcatraz 2. Prison Ship Location: UNKNOWN Jinnifer Blue opens her eyes to find herself in a nightmare. Her plan to expose the horrific truth behind the government’s secret Second Species programme has failed, and now she’s being turned into a weapon by her worst enemy . . . her mother. At the other end of the galaxy Caspian Dax, ferocious space pirate… (read more)


Petals & Stones

When Uma discovers her husband’s infidelity just hours before his untimely death, the carefully woven threads of her life begin to unravel… Struggling to manage the grief of those around her, she escapes to a remote cottage by the coast where she swims in the winter sea, cooks the forgotten Keralan dishes of her childhood and begins the search for her husband’s lover. It isn’t long before Uma realises what she must… (read more)


Promising Young Women

“I don’t know why it never occurs to me to ask for more: to be taken to dinner, or to be given a promise, or at the very least, an explanation of why things aren’t working out with his wife. I know exactly what Jolly would say: I know because I’ve written words to mistresses before. Hundreds of them.” On the day of her 26th birthday, Jane is recently single, adrift at her… (read more)


You Found Me

A promise made in haste. A search for lost memories. Three lives changed forever. Early one morning, Isabel and her eleven-year-old daughter River are walking across Regent’s Park when they come across a distraught-looking man sitting on a bench. They ask him if he’s OK, but he doesn’t know the answer – in fact, he doesn’t even know his name. Urged on by her daughter, Isabel takes the man to hospital. But… (read more)


City of Drowned Souls

When a child disappears, the clock starts ticking… Detective Elisenda Domènech has had a tough few years. The loss of her daughter and a team member; the constant battles against colleagues and judges; the harrowing murder investigations… But it’s about to get much worse. When the son of a controversial local politician goes missing at election time, Elisenda is put on the case. They simply must solve it. Only the team also… (read more)


Blue Shift

Second Species: Book One 2187: Earth is cold, dead and divided. The rich hide away from reality while the rest will do anything to survive. Humanity have only one hope: reaching a habitable planet. But getting there means travelling in large numbers through alien-held space, something that’s politically and practically nearly impossible. Yet for some, fighting their way through space is just a way of life . . .   Jinnifer Blue… (read more)


Dry Season


Short Ride on a Fast Machine

Author: Magnus McGrandle Short Ride on a Fast Machine is a quirky and engaging caper: the story of a young cycle courier from London who goes on an improbable journey to Norway, to pick up a stuffed owl for a mysterious client. For his oddest job to date, Sam enlists the help of his friend and fellow courier Poyntz. But as they make their haphazard journey to Mr Sorensen’s mountain hut, its… (read more)


Before I Was Yours

The third novel from critically acclaimed author Virginia Macgregor. Sam and Rosie Keep have always wanted children of their own but life hasn’t worked out that way for them. The only option available to them now is adoption: they’ll do anything to have a child to love. Seven-year-old Jonah is far away from home and his mama promised he’d be looked after in England. But the man who’s meant to be taking care… (read more)


City of Buried Ghosts

Be careful what you dig up… The atmospheric second crime thriller featuring Catalan detective Elisenda Domènech, for readers of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves Still recovering from the tragedy that hit her team, Elisenda takes on a new case. Except it’s not new. On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered, seemingly executed with a spike thrust through the front of the skull – an ancient tribal ritual. It… (read more)


English Animals

Author: Laura Kaye When Mirka gets a job in a country house in rural England, she has no idea of the struggle she faces to make sense of a very English couple and a way of life that is alien to her. Richard and Sophie are chaotic and frequently outrageous but also warm, generous and kind to Mirka despite their turbulent marriage. Richard swiftly co-opts Mirka into his latest money-making enterprise –… (read more)


City of Good Death

An intense and brilliantly realised crime thriller set in the myth-soaked streets of Girona. A killer is targeting hate figures in the Catalan city of Girona – a loan shark, a corrupt priest, four thugs who have blighted the streets of the old quarter – leaving clues about his next victim through mysterious effigies left hung on a statue. Each corpse is posed in a way whose meaning no one can… (read more)


The Return of Norah Wells

One ordinary morning, Norah walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she walked away from only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah’s family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah’s husband and Norah’s youngest daughter calls Fay ‘Mummy’. Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did… (read more)


The Immortals

Rosa Hyde is the daughter of a time-traveller, stuck in the year 1945. Forced to live through it again, and again, and again. The same bulletins, the same bombs, the same raucous victory celebrations. All she ever wanted was to be free from that year – and from the family who keep her there. At last she breaks out and falls through time, slipping from one century to another, unable to choose… (read more)