Diamond Kahn & Woods Literary Agency
Publisher
Avon
Publication date
August 6, 2020

The Secrets of Saffron Hall

Author: Clare Marchant

Two women. Five centuries apart.
One life-changing secret about to be unearthed…

1538
Though Eleanor is not wealthy, the saffron spice she grows for her new husband is more valuable than gold. But as his reputation in Henry’s court soars, Eleanor soon understands that she has entered into a dangerous game. The king’s favour does not last forever, and she must do anything to protect her family.

2017
Following a tragedy, Amber channels her grief into cataloguing her grandfather’s library. When she finds an ancient book that reveals a dark secret, she feels compelled to investigate. But as the truth begins to unravel, she realises the answers to Eleanor’s story lie closer to home than she could have ever imagined…

A gripping dual timeline historical novel about a mother’s love and hope in the darkest of times, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathryn Hughes.


"Split between two very different time periods, Clare Marchant brings to life the worlds of 16th-century bride Eleanor and Amber in 2019 with great subtlety and believability." Woman
"This pulled me in and didn’t let me go: a page-turner with such historical depth and tender touch that it enchanted my heart. I adored it." Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop
"Emotive, immersive and compelling, a beautiful story that captures the heart." Liz Fenwick, author of The Path to the Sea
"The past and present is skilfully entwined in this captivating and emotional debut." Heidi Swain, author of The Secret Seaside Escape
"Emotional and intense, this is a page-turning story of secrets that echo through time." Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child
"A rich and vivid historical story, The Secrets of Saffron Hall is one of those rare books that is totally engrossing. I loved it." Nicola Cornick, author of The Forgotten Sister
"Intriguing and fascinating, a real insight into a turbulent time in England’s history." Kathleen McGurl, author of The Secret of the Chateau
"An intensely gripping, emotional read, that kept me turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. An atmospheric story sure to please all fans of timeslip novels!" Christina Courtenay, author of Echoes of the Runes
"A beautifully written story which pulls you in and whisks you away to another time. Clare Marchant is a fabulous new talent." Rosie Hendry, author of the East End Angels series
"A charming and engaging mystery, beautifully told." Jenni Keer, author of The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker