Diamond Kahn & Woods Literary Agency
Publisher
Virago
Publication date
June 7, 2018

Promising Young Women

Author: Caroline O’Donoghue

“I don’t know why it never occurs to me to ask for more: to be taken to dinner, or to be given a promise, or at the very least, an explanation of why things aren’t working out with his wife. I know exactly what Jolly would say: I know because I’ve written words to mistresses before. Hundreds of them.”

On the day of her 26th birthday, Jane is recently single, adrift at her job, and intrigued by why Clem – her much older, married boss – is singing to her.

Meanwhile her alter-ego, the online agony aunt Jolly Politely, has all the answers. She’s provided thousands of strangers with insightful and occasionally cutting insights to contemporary life’s most vexing questions.

When she and Clem kiss at a party, Jane does not follow the advice she would give to her readers as Jolly: instead she plunges head-first into an affair. One that could jeopardise her friendships, her career and even her life.

For readers of THE COWS, SWEETBITTER or CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS – as well as for fans of FLEABAG or SEARCH PARTY – Caroline O’Donoghue’s debut is a gothic, darkly witty novel about sex, power, work and being a young woman in a man’s world.