Diamond Kahn & Woods Literary Agency
Publication date
May 30, 2016

City of Buried Ghosts

Author: Chris Lloyd

Be careful what you dig up…

The atmospheric second crime thriller featuring Catalan detective Elisenda Domènech, for readers of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

Still recovering from the tragedy that hit her team, Elisenda takes on a new case. Except it’s not new. On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered, seemingly executed with a spike thrust through the front of the skull – an ancient tribal ritual. It soon becomes clear that this body is neither ancient nor modern, but a mysterious corpse from the 1980s.

Assigned to the case along with her team, Elisenda soon uncovers a complex world of star archaeologists, jealousy and missing persons. They find a dark trade in illicit antiquities, riddled with vicious professional rivalries. And even though she’s staying  close to the crime scene, Elisenda is also never far from enemies of her own within the police force.

Just as the case seems to become clear it is blown wide-open by another horrific murder. Elisenda must fight her personal demons and office politics, whilst continuing to uncover plots and hatreds that were long buried. How far will she go to solve the crime? Is her place in the force secure? And can she rebuild her life?

In City of Buried Ghosts Chris Lloyd has written an utterly gripping crime story set in one of the most stunning parts of Europe. With its extraordinary heroine and unputdownable investigation, it is the perfect crime thriller for the summer.

'Chris Lloyd has a way of telling a great complex story at a beautiful pace, which really sparks your imagination.' Northern Crime Blog
'A brilliant second Elisenda crime novel. I found the background to the action fascinating, the sense of place was once again really skilfully conveyed and the plot was so well-crafted and structured. Really looking forward to Chris Lloyd’s next Elisenda novel!' LA. Amazon.co.uk
'If you enjoy crime writing at it's best then this is the book for you. Chris takes us back to Catalonia with this, his second stunning novel. His love of the area and particularly the city of Girona shines through his writing, leaving his readers enthralled and captivated by the sense of 'place' throughout the script. Another unputdownable gem from Chris Lloyd!' BlueButterfly, Amazon.co.uk
'This series is maturing rather nicely; with an engaging lead in Elisenda, dark undertones and a distinct Spanish flavour. Elisenda is becoming a firm favourite! I found myself once again looking up key parts of Spanish history and some of the places mentioned. This did not detract from my love of the book. Chris Lloyd has a way of telling a great complex story at a beautiful pace, which really sparks your imagination. Looking forward to seeing what Elisenda and her team get up to next. Excellent stuff! Recommended!' Christine, Amazon.co.uk